Skip to content

Blog Improvement Project #2

January 28, 2009

2009bip-150x210-copy This BIP assignment involves brainstorming ideas for content and coming up with a new feature for your own blog. The links Kim posted for brainstorming were incredibly helpful, even to me on my self-designated snow day. I’ve  managed to pull a few ideas together, although I’ll probably keep coming back to this and updating as more ideas come to me.

My first idea is to improve my reviews. I’ve always had trouble explaining why I like or dislike a book and I feel like my reviews are not doing my feelings justice, let alone the books themselves. I’ve decided to add a “What I took from it” feature to my reviews. This is more than just reactions to the book or things the author did well. This section will be about the aspects of the book that I think will stick with me for some period of time. I’d also like to periodically (say every three months or so) review that part of my reviews and see if my opinions have changed or if something else about the book has lingered in my mind. “What I took from it” is about the memory of the book that I will have long after I’ve read it.

My other idea I picked up from my current read, Sammy’s House by Kristin Gore. As mentioned in the earlier novel, Sammy’s Hill, Sammy likes to celebrate each day but only for things she deems important to history. The example she used in the book was the 146th anniversary of discovering George Eliot was a woman. I want to find things worth celebrating each day (not every day, clearly) and once a week share what I will be celebrating in the upcoming days, and how I will be celebrating.

For example, yesteryday marked the 129th anniversary of Edison receiving a patent on his electric lamp. To celebrate, I draped a scarf over my brightest lamp, which gave the room a happy glow. I might just keep it that way!

Today, Sir Francis Drake died exploring off the coast of Panama in 1596. To honor his memory, I will make three wrong turns throughout my day and see where I end up.

Something I’ve wanted to work on is getting more input from lurkers, so please choose from the below list of comments:

1) Tiddlypom

2) I celebrate _______ during the year by doing ______

3) I think you should add _____ to your blog and then I will talk more

4) You’ve really lost it this time Heather.

E) (I always like option E and I’m not into limiting people’s freedom of speech. Say what you please)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 6:45 am

    LOL! 1,4 & E! I would say Tiddlypom if only because I, ahem, inspired you enough to linklove to my post. Thanks.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your way to celebrate Drake today! too funny. That’s good.

    I actually DNF’d Sammy’s Hill – I can’t remember exactly why; it was pre-blogging.

  2. January 28, 2009 9:56 am

    I love Tiddlypom! It’s such a great idea and I laugh every time I read it. I really hope it catches on… I’ll do my part!

  3. January 28, 2009 9:43 pm

    That’s a great idea! I think there are always things to celebrate, so that’ll be a cool feature to look for. And I say the quirkier the better 🙂

    Kim

  4. January 30, 2009 10:30 pm

    Tiddlypom! LOL. I’m an experienced lurker, even if I just found your blog.

    I really like your idea of “What I took from it” for the blog improvement project.

Leave a comment