Skip to content

Weekly Geeks #2

January 29, 2009
tags:

wg_relaxing_thumb31For those who have been with the group, either from the start or joined within recent months, what does being a member mean to you? What do you enjoy about the group? What are some of your more memorable Weekly Geeks that we might could do again? What could be improved as we continue the legacy that Dewey gave us?

For those just joining us, why did you sign up for Weekly Geeks? What would you like to see here?

This is incredibly late, but I still wanted to do it, so I’ll keep it short. I found Weekly Geeks shortly after I started blogging and loved it from the beginning (which was only a few months ago). At that point, I had just realized that I do not read fast enough to be posting book reviews every day, or even every few days. I was floundering for things to talk about, to do, to read, to comment on, anything to keep me involved with my blog so it did not just become another started-and-deserted project. Dewey introduced me to a slew of incredible book blogs that not only served as entertainment for me, but many have served as role models for how to do this right (Care and Kim being notables).

Weekly Geeks give me something to think about each week as I blog, something more than just the topic. I end up thinking about who I will visit this week, whose post I look forward to most, what new blogs might I find and what kind of purpose exists for my own blog. I started blogging simply for myself. I never even thought I would made it public. After becoming part of Weekly Geeks, I realize that book blogging is like everything else in life: better when shared. To me, that’s what Dewey was all about and whatever changes are made to Weekly Geeks, I hope they hold true to that ideal.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 10:48 am

    Great answer…I’m glad you answered!!

  2. January 29, 2009 5:28 pm

    Snort! WHAT?! me, a role model? You amuse me with your praise. I sure wish WP hadn’t changed the ‘who is actually linking to your blog’ feature, but I found this anyway and I think you are too sweet.

    I second Fiz-B (softdrink) – nice answer. 🙂

  3. January 29, 2009 8:51 pm

    If Care and Kim are your role models, clearly I should be visiting more often.

    “Better when shared.” Precisely. Thanks for participating! Better late than never, as they say.

Leave a Reply

