Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday

December 30, 2008

I decided to do a Teaser Tuesday because I’m way behind on reviews but I’m continuing to read ahead anyway. For Teaser Tuesdays, open your current read to a random page and share two “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

So here is my tease:

“It transpired that with no prior notification to her attendants the Queen had abandoned her long-standing lines of inquiry- length of service, distance travelled, place of origin- and had embarked on a new conversational gambit, namely, ‘What are you reading at the moment?’ To this very few of Her Majesty’s loyal subjects had a ready answer (though one did try: ‘The Bible?’).”

p. 40 of The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

What are you reading? Can you give us a tease?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2008 7:44 pm

    At this time, I am reading two books, The Shack, which I started last night and The Audacity of Hope by Obama. I find the Obama book to be well written and hope that he can lead our country in a way that is needed. We who live in the US need to always remember that we are founded on HOPE and that is what keeps our country strong.

  2. January 1, 2009 10:47 am

    Oh! How are you enjoying The Shack? I have so many people telling me I have to read it, I think it will be next on my list!

  3. January 1, 2009 12:48 pm

    How interesting that I’m reading that Obama book, too! Probably good time and place rather than a coincidence.

    I recognized the Uncommon Reader! fun book.

Leave a comment