Skip to content

Weekly Geek

May 8, 2009

I’m back from the dead and I’m going to start off with the most recent Weekly Geek. I don’t have too much to say about my review format, but I guess I’ll just ease myself back into things. Thanks to Care for coming up with this weeks theme!

1. Explain your review format – if you have one. Or maybe your rating system?

2. Highlight another book-blogger’s review format by linking to a favorite example – don’t forget to tell us why they are a fave!

3. Do a review in another book-blogger’s format of your latest read.

4. Highlight a past review that you are particularly proud of and why the format or structure may have had something to do with it.

First, my format is fairly unoriginal. I include the title, the cover art and the back cover because I’m awful at summarizing without giving too much away. I like to focus more of my efforts on my actual review, but I also think it’s important to include so people have some idea what I’m talking about. I’ve been toying with the idea of taking it out. We’ll see.

I also use a grading system that is pretty similar to others’. My scale is mainly A-F but I sometimes add a plus or minus when I absolutely have to. Sometimes I worry that giving a book a C grade makes it sound worse than it is. To me, a C book is ok, something I’m not glad I read or wish I hadn’t.

My favorite review of my own is my most recent (my favorite reviews tend to be of my favorite books, go figure). I loved The Help and I worked really hard on explaining what it did for me. The wonderful comments I’ve gotten have made me really feel like I got my message across! I think that my format made my review possible because I didn’t have to waste my energy writing up the summary and background information to the book and I was able to spend as much time as I wanted on my reading experience. At the same time, my review would not have made much sense if readers had not know anything about the book at all.

When I think of the best reviews I read each day, I immediately think of S. Krishna. I love and trust the content of her reviews, as well as the format. She includes all of the relevant information right out front and her rating system is clear and easy to find. I know that anything she gives more than a 3 out of 5 is something I need to look into and anything less than a 3 comes with a clear explanation of why.

Does this provide any insight? Probably not, but it’s nice to be sharing my own original thoughts again and having permission to write in my own voice in first person. I’ve finished my final academic paper of undergrad and forgive my loose interpretation of grammer and other rules for the next few days… I need to let loose and be free!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 6:58 pm

    Great post. Happy Weekly Geeks 🙂

  2. May 9, 2009 11:13 am

    I think needing to be “loose and free” is why I’ve been updating my blog so often, even in the midst of too many finals. Writing blog posts is a nice break for me. Congrats on finishing things up!

  3. May 9, 2009 9:39 pm

    Let loose! Be free! Congrats on getting thru school!!!!!!! I thought you rev of The Help was wonderful. I already knew I wanted to read it, but your rev made me want to run to Borders and buy it to read next!
    But I didn’t have time and … maybe tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

