Skip to content

Frugal Squoo Fridays

April 10, 2009

I’ve been struggling to find something I can talk about other than books. Certainly I have other interests and pasions, but not that I felt the desire to share on a weekly basis. I admit that my blogging has fallen to the wayside as I juggle the rest of my life, and guilt over not having read anything since my last post hasn’t helped motivate me. Today I realized that I have been reading of course, just different material. I’ve been reading about money, the economy, finances and budgeting. Thus Frugal Squoo Fridays was born. Every other Friday, I will post some of my favorite ways to save some money.

Now you may ask, what on earth is a squoo?? Squoo is a variant on the verb squeeze. My boyfriend (Big Ole Squoo) and I use squeeze to refer to a strong hug or a hand squeeze, etc. Any kind of affectionate grasp is a squeeze. A person who gives or receives such a squeeze, or squee as we ususally call it, is a squoo. Just saying the word is stress relieving. The more you sound like a five year old, the more effective it is. Try it, seriously. I’ve mentioned a bit about my own stresses and struggles, and Big Ole Squoo faces different but similar stresses. We do whatever we can to keep laughing and calling each other squoo and giving squees is one way to do that.

The first thing I’d like to share for Frugal Squoo Fridays is a wonderful place called Pad Mapper. Their slogan is “making apartment hunting suck less.” Pad Mapper takes all of the listings for apartments and houses on Craigslist.com and puts them into a map. You can search by place, size, and price and then see a visual representation of where each apartment is located.  For anyone looking for a place to live, this is an incredible tool. I love craigslist because it takes out the need for a middle man who gets a cut but it’s pure misery trying to sort through all of those listings. Pad Mapper takes out all of that misery and makes it so incredibly easy. I found seven apartments I had missed searching on my own, one that I’m going to see tonight.

Other craigslist search tools I’ve found are Search Tempest, and Housing Maps also let you search craiglist more efficiently than the site itself, but Pad Mapper gives you advanced search options that neither of these sites provide.

If you or anyone you know ever plan on moving, keep this site saved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 6:42 pm

    My husband and I are both self-employed so anything that will save us a bit of money is welcome news. We’re not planning to move, but I’ll be looking for future posts.

    Hey, if you’re stressed about the economy, don’t pile on more stress by worrying about blogging and reading. Just do what you can.

    • April 10, 2009 7:14 pm

      Thanks Beth! That’s exactly what I’m doing. I just have to balance the reading and blogging that I enjoy doing with stressing myself by doing to much. C’est la vie.

  2. April 15, 2009 12:08 pm

    i hear your stress over blogging…i’m trying to balance my life, job, and 2 blogs–it’s such work!!! the laundry is falling by the wayside. 😦 hee hee. as for pad mapping–that’s so cool! thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

