Skip to content

Old Maid?

April 3, 2009

birthday_candles1I’m not one to toot my own horn, but today is my birthday! I’m a whopping 22 years old. Now many of you will think thats young, but I feel old. I’m about to finish my educational career and start a real one. I’m at that sappy point where you realize that the way your life was set up for the past 16 years (revolving around school and friends) is about to fundamentally change (to revolve around work and family). I know growing up doesn’t happen over night, but graduation is still an exciting and scary time for many of us.

So as a break from the usual bookishness (my favorite word, in case you were wondering), what advice do you have for me as I become a “real person?” What do you wish someone had told you when you were graduating that you either learned the hard way or learned from others later?  What was graduation from college like for you?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 9:34 am

    Happy birthday!

    And I wish I had an answer for you, but I’d like to know myself…

    • April 3, 2009 9:35 am

      Yea, we’re in the same boat! If I find out the secret to life, I’ll be sure to let you know if you’ll do the same 😀

  2. April 3, 2009 10:42 am

    Happy Birthday!! My advice is that this really is an exciting time for you and its quite a ride. Just relax and enjoy it. But most importantly, be true to yourself, don’t be afraid to be open and learn new things and don’t settle for less than your heart’s desire.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, I hope it is a wonderful day!

  3. April 3, 2009 10:58 am

    Happy Birthday!
    I wish I had spent more time enjoying myself when I was younger (I’m only 30 now, but still wish I had done more when I was free to do so) People told me how important it was to work hard and study hard, but I now think it is more important to enjoy life. Once you have children it is so much harder to do things on the spur of the moment. So I advise you to go out and have fun!!

  4. April 3, 2009 11:49 am

    I’m so sorry I haven’t been around your blog for a long time. I haven’t been blogging much myself, but I just wanted to drop by and say hi, wish you a good weekend and a nice Easter (if you celebrate that) and apologize for being scarce.

    I am finishing my Master thesis and this takes up most of my time. Hopefully, by the end of May, I will be able to blog more and participate more around the blogosphere.

    I am still reviewing books from time to time on my blog, but I am not really active.

    I don’t expect you to come running visiting and commenting, I just wanted to let you know that I am very much alive and I miss reading and commenting on your blog very much.

    This is a personal message written to all the blogowner, whose delightful blogs I visit on a regular basis, but it has been copy/pasted. So if you find it on other blogger’s blogs, that is why.

    I look very much forward to be active again – and apologize once again for not being active the past month and not being able to be active for another month or two.

    Louise,

    http://louspages.blogspot.com

    PS. HAPPY B.DAY. You are young!!! Enjoy it 🙂

  5. April 3, 2009 1:12 pm

    Happy birthday! I had one of those this week too, but I am literally old enough to be your (youngish) mom – in fact, my son is older than you are :-). But when I was your age, my son was a two-year-old. I don’t recommend starting that early. As for other advice, I would echo Stephanie and Jackie.

  6. April 3, 2009 1:34 pm

    Happy Birthday!!

    I wish I could give you some good advice, but I still feel lost all the time myself.

  7. April 3, 2009 3:47 pm

    I’m 32 now, and I spent a lot of time in my twenties being nervous about who I would become professionally and how I would get there. I also compared my present life to what it had been like earlier in college and at other times in the past. Since then I’ve pursue professional goals and learned to really trust that my skills and motivation will help me achieve whatever I chose to, as long as I continue steadily along. I also found that my wish to meet my perfect guy came true just when I felt like I had accepted and mastered long-term singlehood.

    So, my advice is trust that you will find your way though you will face a lot of ambiguity and uncertainty, do your best to find balance between social life and professional life, and enjoy the present.

    Now wasn’t that helpful coming from a complete stranger? 🙂

    • April 3, 2009 4:01 pm

      That is just amazing advice and I will definitely take that to heart. Thank you for taking the time to share that with me!

  8. April 3, 2009 3:54 pm

    Hi sweetie.. happy birthday! You’re just a baby compared to me!! LOL. Ok, you’ve already received some excellent advice. I would just add one thing- save your money and don’t get caught up in buying things on credit. College grads get inundated with credit offers but it’s a real trap. And even if you’re only making a small salary, try to save a portion of it, maybe 5%. You might not think you can, but you can make adjustments in other areas. Believe me, I wish someone had told me this at your age. Your money will have decades to grow and you won’t have to work so hard when you’re older. It seems like you have all the time in the world to save, and you’ve got so many pressing needs and wants RIGHT NOW, but set a little aside for later and let compound interest do it’s thing. You’ll be glad you did.

    Now go blow out those birthday candles!!

  9. April 3, 2009 10:22 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    And my advice? It’s okay if you don’t get it right the first time. This is life, it’s meant to be lived. 🙂

  10. April 3, 2009 10:41 pm

    Ah, since I’m watching FoodNetwork and they are featuring the BEST restaurants EVERYWHERE – my first advice is to go to Peter Luger’s for steak! My advice (I’m double your age, btw not that it’s all that important) is to remember to have fun. Remember your loved ones, remember your friends. If you EVER get so busy that you tell everyone ‘I’m too busy” then stop and re-evaluate. If you’re constantly on a treadmill and the goals aren’t getting accomplished and you can’t remember the last time you laughed with friends being silly, then – well, something’s wrong, imo. And on a practical side – buy a book and record the who/what/where/when – addresses, boss’ names, every time you move or change so you have ONE SPOT to check – and med stuff, record medical stuff and keep a medical journal, that’s one of the big things I didn’t do and I wish I did. (I do now) Boring? But I’ve moved a lot and it’s just too hard to remember crap like this…
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! HAVE FUN!

  11. April 4, 2009 12:50 am

    Happy birthday! I don’t have any advice to share that others haven’t. Just have fun!

  12. April 5, 2009 7:41 pm

    Happy Birthday! I felt really old last year when I turned 22 and did all the graduating things. I lucked out because I’m in grad school, so I didn’t have to totally switch everything, but I do miss my friends and the town I lived in for college.

  13. April 5, 2009 9:41 pm

    happy b-day! here’s my advice:
    a. live within your means
    b. find a job you love
    c. share your heart with someone

    that’s what i’ve learned in my 34 1/2 years.

  14. April 6, 2009 4:00 pm

    You are just a kid!! But my advice is to embrace life and look forward to every year. I’m more than twice as old as you and I love my birthdays — I love each new year and am excited to see what new things there are to learn and do. Never stop growing and learning and reading and doing.

Leave a Reply

