Skip to content

The Secret’s Out: Review of Rhonda Byrne’s “The Secret”

March 24, 2009

From the publisher:51dny2ewlxl_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_

Fragments of a Great Secret have been found in the oral traditions, in literature, in religions and philosophies throughout the centuries. For the first time, all the pieces of The Secret come together in an incredible revelation that will be life-transforming for all who experience it.

In this book, you’ll learn how to use The Secret in every aspect of your life — money, health, relationships, happiness, and in every interaction you have in the world. You’ll begin to understand the hidden, untapped power that’s within you, and this revelation can bring joy to every aspect of your life.

The Secret contains wisdom from modern-day teachers — men and women who have used it to achieve health, wealth, and happiness. By applying the knowledge of The Secret, they bring to light compelling stories of eradicating disease, acquiring massive wealth, overcoming obstacles, and achieving what many would regard as impossible.

Review and Grade: D

After all of the incredible hype regarding The Secret, I was severely disappointed. That’s not to say it is an entire waste. I like the ideas behind it, mostly about the power of positive thinking, and many of the specific suggestions are great! For example, when you wake up every morning, spend one minute forcing your lips into a smile, whether you mean it or not. Then go about your day. This is sound psychological advice that will make you a happier person. However, the rest of the concepts were not so easy to swallow.

My serious reservations started when I read this passage:

“Often when people first hear this part of the Secret they recall events in history where masses of lives were lost, and they find it incomprehensible that so many people could have attracted themselves to the event. By the law of attraction, they had to be on the same frequency of that exact event. It doesn’t necessarily mean they thought of that exact event, but the frequency of their thoughts matched the frequency of the event.” p. 28

My mind kept going back to those statements and as much as I might have liked the advice in the rest of the book, there was no way I was going to swallow it after that assertion. I dediced that I would take out the parts I didn’t like and only accept the parts that I did like (which only goes with the law of attraction, right?) and that’s when I noticed something… the parts I was left with in my notes reminded me of my first ever philosophy lesson, sung to me as a child from a dancing bear… does this sound familiar?

Personally, I think Baloo said it much better and didn’t leave the same bad taste in my mouth as The Secret.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2009 5:58 pm

    Ha ha, nice YouTube clip. That’s a good song to think back on 🙂

  2. March 24, 2009 9:25 pm

    i love honest reviews and think that it’s refreshing to read someone’s real opinion of a book. i do feel a bit bad when i pan a book…but it’s subjective, right? maybe someone else will love it even if i don’t. 🙂

    • March 25, 2009 2:38 am

      Exactly. I know there were tons of people who loved it and whose lives were changed by the book. Good for them, I just express what I felt reading it and well, I’ll never get passed that one passage.

  3. March 25, 2009 4:50 am

    I’m not fond of books/people/movies that try to tell me how to live my life, especially if they try to sell to me that it’s this big secret that will immediately, through positive thinking, make my life so much better. It’s one of many reasons that I’ve ignored this book.

Leave a Reply

