Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday: Movie Potential

March 12, 2009

btt2What book do you think should be made into a movie? And do you have any suggestions for the producers?

Or, What book do you think should NEVER be made into a movie?

The Art of Racing in the Rain, if it is done well. I hate movies where they make the dogs talk, but with Enzo narrating, it could be wonderful. I don’t know anything about who to cast or who should produce it, but I firmly believe in staying true to the book, especially a book like this one!

There are certain books that I think should be protected, like historic landmarks. One is The Giver by Lois Lowry. That book introduced me to fantasy/science fiction that wasn’t too nerdy for me and if that ever became a movie, I know as a 12 year old, I would never have picked it up. Same with Madeleine L’Engle… A Wrinkle in Time was made into a TV movie at one point, and even though it far exceeded my expectations, it completely failed to capture most of the book.

Finally, and I’m really not worried about this one, but I have to throw it out there… Fahrenheit 451 should never be made into a movie. It would be too painfully and unconscionably ironic to put society through it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 5:08 pm

    I have a bit of an issue with the question (I’m not even sure why…), but I agree with you in regards to “A Wrinkle in Time” and “The Giver”. Also, especially since Lowery sort of ruined the wonderful ending by adding on random, unrelated sequels. With you on that.

  2. March 12, 2009 5:25 pm

    Actually, Fahrenheit 451 was made into a wonderful movie by Francois Truffaut back in 1966. One of my favorites. And very true to the book, fortunately.

    • March 12, 2009 8:19 pm

      Really? I had no idea Fahrenheit 451 was a movie. I’m going to have to look into that. Thank you!

  3. March 12, 2009 7:43 pm

    bringing a book to ‘life’ on screen is a project fraught with peril and pitfalls. so many movies have fallen short of the mark…i think it’s unrealistic to think that a movie version of a book will really do the book justice. not only are there time constraints, but directors bring their own interpretation to the table…and it may not be in line with what you or i imagine.

    that said, i’d love to see some of the kay scarpetta novels brought to life…

  4. March 13, 2009 1:23 am

    I think the only way The Art of Racing in the Rain would work was if they had Enzo’s voice as a voiceover.

    I was actually thinking about that book today because my dog chewed up some of my kid’s homework while I was off running an errand. It made me think that the zebra has been visiting my house too often lately! šŸ˜‰

  5. March 13, 2009 7:15 am

    I just realized my spelling mistake, now that I’ve woken up properly (sad that it took so long). “The Giver” was written by Lois Lowry. Sorry for this unnecessary comment; I can’t stand having stupid mistakes like that… Also, want to agree with Natalie. It’s hard to think about something like this… can movies really do justice to the books?

    • March 13, 2009 8:58 am

      Alyce: I agree that it would need to be a voiceover, but finding the right voice would be difficult because it would make or break the movie in my opinion.
      I love the zebra just because I can totally see my dog being terrified of it and doing ridiculous things too… she’s been very good lately though, so no zebra here!

      Biblibio and Natalie: Maybe movies can’t do justice to the book, but can’t they do justice to the story? They’ll never get all the details but a few directors have been able to align their own vision with the author’s well enough not to offend faithful readers (i.e. Peter Jackson). But that just brings us back to the whole book to movie discussion again!

  6. melissapilakowski permalink
    March 17, 2009 10:38 pm

    The Giver should never be allowed to be made into a movie. Let the millions of readers keep in their minds what they have imagined. You hear that Hollywood: hands off!

    I agree with you on Fahrenheit 451. I’ve seen the movie and wasn’t much impressed. That was 15 years ago, so maybe I would like it better now. But get this: A new Fahrenheit 451 movie is in the making according to imdb!

    Another remake I tried to once and couldn’t do it: Brave New World. Ugh. It was painful.

  7. May 13, 2009 4:13 pm

    Not sure if you saw, that Patrick Dempsey bought the rights to Art of Racing in the Rain and is planning on making it (and playing Denny I think).

    Just saw mention of it on the authors Twitter.

    http://twitter.com/garthstein

    • May 20, 2009 10:24 am

      Wow, I didn’t know that! I like Patrick Dempsey playing Denny though, so I’ll have to keep an eye out for it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

