Skip to content

Japser Fforde Quote of the Day!

March 11, 2009

114

“Sorry,” he (Hamlet) said, rubbing his temples. “I don’t know what came over me. All of a sudden I had this overwhelming desire to talk for a very long time without actually doing anything.”

-Jasper Fforde, Something Rotten

My favorite thing about Jasper Fforde is his ability to use characters (such as Hamlet) that we already know, love and/or hate, in a way that is simultaneously unique to him and true to the character. Take this quote in context or out, I’ll still love it. Above it a very young version of my dad to illustrate Hamlet, well, because he’s making that face. Classic, isn’t it? One more reason not to tell my family about this blog!

dscn1667

Happy Wednesday everyone! (it is not this beautiful here today, I just wish it was. This picture is from last year)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 7:08 pm

    I actually came here from the Booking Through Thursday site, but I immediately got distracted by the Jasper Fforde quotes. I love his books (though I still have to get First Among Sequels).

    Thanks for this quote. It put a smile on my face during a rough day.

  2. March 12, 2009 8:20 pm

    I loved First Among Sequels as much as the others and since it’s looking like it will be awhile before his next book, I’m thinking of rereading, which I never do.
    Glad you enjoyed the quote!

Leave a Reply

