Skip to content

More About My Lack of Self Control

March 10, 2009
tags:

I caved. I said less than a week ago that I’d never join Twitter, it was stupid and another way to waste time. Then last week, I lightened my stance because, well, it sounds fun, I just don’t think I have enough to say. This morning, I realized that I’ve been coming up with possible tweets in my head for three days and rapidly updating my gchat and facebook statuses. So this afternoon, as a form of paper procrastination I caved. I’m sorry Kim, I know you told us to wait until the next BIP to just start joining stuff, but I couldn’t help it. Now that I’ve joined, I’m faced with a new dilemma I never expected…
Who am I?
I’m the type of person who tends to keep aspects of her life separate. I have a social life, romantic life, family life, academic life and work life, each with their own version of me to go with it. Sure, the differences are minor and I won’t have a crisis is the world overlap, but this blog has been a horse of a different color.
I’ve had this blog for seven months and only my boyfriend has ever seen it (and that was yesterday). I’m not ashamed of anything and it’s not even that I like to talk about any of them on here (a reason one person suggested keeping it private). The only reason I’ve kept this blog a secret from my family and friends is that my book addiction is more of a tolerated quirk than a fully accepted aspect of my personality. Half the time, I feel like my friends and my books are in competition with one another; only a few will get much of my time.
On here, I get to let my bookish-nerdery (Kim’s word) run free and don’t hide the fact that, well, I’d rather be reading. As much as I love those around me, most of them just don’t get my thought process.
So now, as I join Twitter, I realized that I either need to create two twitter accounts (which I did for now) and wait until my head explodes from trying to forge these two personalities, or find a way to merge my two personas (the social and the bookworm) ASAP. I’m not afraid that my family and friends won’t support me, I just can’t imagine that they’ll understand why I do this.
funny-pictures-kitten-realizes-his-friend-is-not-real
Who in your life is involved with your blog? Have you had to confront two different personas before? What would you do if you were me?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. farmlanebooks permalink
    March 11, 2009 4:41 am

    I know exactly what you mean! My real life friends know I read a lot, but I don’t think they have any idea about all the blogging, and wouldn’t be at all interesting in lots of book related tweets. I think two accounts is the best way forward, but I haven’t joined twitter yet, so I don’t really know enough about it.

    I’ll probably join in the next few weeks though, so hopefully you’ll have all the answers for me by then!

    • March 11, 2009 7:27 am

      I’m so glad you understand! So far the two twitters isn’t that bad (it’s been 12 hours, though)… I don’t know about having ALL the answers for you but maybe I’ll have some 😀

  2. March 11, 2009 8:12 am

    I swear, I could have written this post. I was also reluctant to join Twitter at first. And none of my friends or family know about my blog – just my boyfriend. I like keeping those different areas of my life separate too… more, I regret the fact that I didn’t use a different e-mail account to join Twitter with, because a few people have found me and began to follow me, and I bet they wonder what the constant book blabbing is all about. That’s actually the reason why I don’t have a link to my blog on my Twitter profile. I should have thought of creating two accounts. Your post made me feel a LOT less weird. Thank you!

  3. March 11, 2009 3:13 pm

    I recently joined Twitter and am still trying to figure it out. 🙂

    Like you, I keep my online book & blog loving self separate from my work/family/face-to-face friends life. Those in my “real” life aren’t really into blogging or social networking sites like Twitter to any major extent, and so it hasn’t been a big problem in that regard. My legal name (the one I use at work) is slightly different than the one I use online for my review writing, so it isn’t quite so obvious. I am still careful though about what I disclose on my blog just in case.

    You aren’t so unusual. 🙂

  4. March 12, 2009 9:48 am

    I have sort of a split between journalism and book blogging. I’m following a lot of book bloggers and journalists on Twitter, but I never know what to post about because I feel like there are two such different audiences reading. As for real-life friends, I think a lot of them know I keep a blog (it’s linked on Facebook and stuff), but very few of them read and comment, I think. It’s ok, I sort of like it better that way. However, I am using this blog as part of a journalism blogging assignment, so now my professor and classmates know about it. That’s sort of weird for me, but oh well 🙂

    • March 12, 2009 3:09 pm

      I’m glad to see I’m not alone in having these split personalities! I feel a lot better about it and much less guilty for dividing up the people in my life! Thank you!

  5. March 15, 2009 10:55 am

    You are definitely not alone. I have a blog for my writerly/book stuff, a blog for my friends, and a blog for my family because they don’t need to be hearing about that handle of vodka I kicked back last weekend. 😄 It’s maddening sometimes.

  6. March 19, 2009 9:35 pm

    I love twitter, but I can relate to having the feeling of leading a double life. My family knows about my blog, but they don’t really ever read it. My parents don’t have an internet connection, so they’ve never seen my blog.

    My non-book friends show no interest in book discussions, so I’ve had no reason to bring it up with them. I have made some friends (B & b ex libris & her book club) because of the blog and that’s been awesome!

Leave a Reply

