Skip to content

Weekly Geek Quote of the Day!

March 9, 2009

wg_relaxing_thumb31From Weekly Geeks:

One of my favorite Weekly Geeks last year was: A Quote a Day. This will have you pulling books off your shelves and Googling for your favorites. It also means a post a day for the next week – or as many as you can do. Quoth Dewey:

You may want to come up with a theme, such as favorite passages from books, author quotes, political quotes, quotes about books or reading, humorous quotes, whatever. Or you may not want a theme at all; maybe you just want to gather up seven assorted quotes that appeal to you. You may want to start each of your posts of the week with a quote, or you may want to give quotes posts of their own in addition to your regular posts. It’s all up to you!

I’m a day late in starting this but don’t worry, I’ll make up for it! Blame the hiccups! When I saw this WG, I knew I wanted to use books quotes, as in quotes about books. But also quotes from books. Book quotes from books about books? Not all that common, however I have the solution and his name is Jasper Fforde. Fforde quotes will be my theme for this week, starting with this one.

‘If the real world were a book, it would never find a publisher. Over-long, detailed to the point of distraction – and ultimately without a major resolution.’

-Jasper Fforde, Something Rotten

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 2:32 pm

    Very nice quote! *grin* And I agree completely. Also one of my favorites: “The difference between reality and fiction is that fiction has to make sense.”

  2. melissapilakowski permalink
    March 9, 2009 2:38 pm

    Isn’t that the truth! Extremely, 100% true.

  3. March 9, 2009 2:59 pm

    Reminds me of Hitchcock saying that the movies are like real life with all the boring parts taken out.

  4. March 9, 2009 5:02 pm

    Love it! This IS a fun geek week.

  5. March 10, 2009 5:53 am

    I like that quote. I’ve often thought similar myself, but I don’t think I could ever phrase it so nicely… I’m looking forward to the upcoming quotes.

Leave a Reply

