Skip to content

Slump- Can somebody help me?

February 3, 2009

funny-pictures-this-mission-is-going-slowly

I’m officially in a slump. I got a bit stuck on The Blind Assassin a week or two ago. I had so much trouble getting into it that by the time it finally picked up, I could barely make myself keep going and I just wanted it to be done with. I don’t like reading with that attitude (reading should never be work!), so I set it aside to revisit soon and picked up an easy, fun, chick novel set in DC. I love books that are set where I live, and considering I live four blocks from the White House, they don’t get much closer. The book is funny and light and highly entertaining, but I still can’t make myself sit and actually read. In a subconscious attempt to alleviate some guilt, I have avoided all book blogs, including my own. It’s been a few weeks now and hasn’t helped. When I opened my book to do my Teaser Tuesday yesterday and opened to the SAME PAGE as I used for last week’s teaser, I knew I had a problem.

So now I’m slumped and stumped. Does this ever happen to you? What do you do to pull yourself out of a slump?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 2:59 pm

    Let’s see… I can always think of stuff to yap about. Tell us how you ended up living so close to the White House? Write about a favorite book you read a LOOoooong time ago? Do research on an author you enjoy? Or just do the alphabetical meme and start with A – write anything, B, C, D etc. Or open up for questions! search “MEME” and see what comes up… Tell us about any fun searches people used to find YOUR blog. Usually, though, I just let my fingers fly and my brain engage and see what silliness erupts. I don’t often post these but it gets me out of slump. Good luck!

  2. February 4, 2009 4:30 pm

    I read more than one book at a time. That’s the only way I can keep from it. I also take a break from reading and watch movies. I go movie crazy for an entire weekend.

Leave a Reply

