Skip to content

What Would You Do?

January 14, 2009

Scenario #1:

You’re sitting on the train and see a woman just across the aisle immersed in one of your favorite recent reads. None of your friends have read it and you’ve been dying to talk about it with someone. Do you say something to them? Under what circumstances would you strike up a conversation?

reading460

I’ve been thinking about this for a while. I ride the DC metro almost daily and I’m constantly looking at what people are reading. I’m not the kind of person who likes to start up conversations with strangers around me (I am NEVER that woman on the plane), but when it comes to books, I’m tempted. Certain books are easy, namely the blockbuster books like Harry Potter and Twilight. People who read them are aware that it’s a social read and can start conversations. However, other books, whether it’s The Kite Runner or Wuthering Heights, I feel more intimidated about approaching someone. I think, ‘Why would they care whether I liked it? They’re in the middle of reading it! They don’t want to talk! They want to read!’ On the flipside, I always like when I get approached by someone else, so I want to return the favor.

I think that from now on I am going to tell the person if I loved the book, as long as I’m not interrupting too much. What would you do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 4:40 pm

    I would; I love talking to people, any people. You could try the comment/apology approach, “Excuse, me, I hope I’m not intruding, but may I just say, I LOVED that book you are reading, and I hope you are, too?” Shy smile, see what happens. If they politely smile back but murmur ‘uh huh’ and barely make any reciprocal eye contact, then you don’t have to do anything or say anything more. But if they want to talk, they will.

    • January 14, 2009 6:10 pm

      Wow! You really know how to do it! I’m going to try it this week if I see someone! Thanks!

  2. January 16, 2009 10:57 pm

    I hate it when people talk to me and I am trying to read. I’m such a mean anti-social person…lol!

Leave a Reply

