Skip to content

Musing Mondays: Assigned Reading

January 12, 2009

Musing Mondays from Rebecca!

How did you react to assigned reading when you were in school/university/college/etc? How do you think on these books now? What book were you ‘forced’ to read when you where in school that you’ve since reread and loved?

mban1553l

I always resented having to read for school and would sometimes try to read books the summer before they would be assigned so I didn’t feel like I “had” to read them. Imagine my disappointment when I found out I had spent a whole summer struggling through David Copperfield on my own, only to have Great Expectations assigned that year instead!

However, now I miss the guided discussions. I’m the type of person that loves to discuss what I’m reading (and for some reason, I’m not in a book club) and see other interpretations of the same material. It’s even better when there is someone who really grasps the full implications of the book to guide the discussion along. I had a few wonderful English teachers in high school (and decided I didn’t need assigned reading in college), so I really miss those enlightening conversations. I love those “A ha!” moments when a book or story I didn’t like as I read it suddenly comes into focus and I’m bowled over by the artistry of it! Ok, I’m getting carried away here, but you know what I mean.

Assigned books I later loved:

Great Expectations and all things Shakespeare (only after discussing)

Assigned books I hated:

1984 and Lord of the Flies (still don’t like them but I can appreciate them at least)

Assigned books I read early and loved:

Fahrenheit 451 and Catcher in the Rye

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 2:24 pm

    You’ve nicely captured the worth of classes and of talking about books! I was pretty neutral about 1984, but I liked Lord of the Flies. The Beach is a kind of modern-day take-off on Lord of the Flies. I liked it, but my husband didn’t, so sample it at your own risk!

Leave a Reply

