Skip to content

What’s In A Name Challenge

November 19, 2008

*This is a challenge that anyone can join, no matter what types of books they like to read. You should be able to find books from any genre that will work.

*Dates: January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009

*The Challenge: Choose one book from each of the following categories.

1. A book with a “profession” in its title. Examples might include: The Book Thief, The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Historian

2. A book with a “time of day” in its title. Examples might include: Twilight, Four Past Midnight, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

3. A book with a “relative” in its title. Examples might include: Eight Cousins, My Father’s Dragon, The Daughter of Time

4. A book with a “body part” in its title. Examples might include: The Bluest Eye, Bag of Bones, The Heart of Darkness

5. A book with a “building” in its title. Examples might include: Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Little House on the Prairie, The Looming Tower

6. A book with a “medical condition” in its title. Examples might include: Insomnia, Coma, The Plague

*You may overlap books with other challenges, but please don’t use the same book for more than one category.

*Again, there will be some small prizes scattered throughout. No set schedule, so just be sure to check in once a while. There will also be a prize awarded at the conclusion to one participant who completes the challenge.

*You don’t need to decide exactly which books you will be reading ahead of time, though you’re certainly welcome to. Either way, I’d love to see your lists of possibilities, and I’ll bet everyone else would love to read them as well. To join in, simply leave a link here. Or, if you don’t have a blog, simply leave your name (and feel free to share your list in the comments if you’d like).

My planned books:

1. Lessons of a Lipstick Queen by Poppy King (Queen is a profession. I don’t want to hear about it)

2. Can 90 Minutes in Heaven count? I want to read that anyway. I’ll keep looking. Maybe Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

3. The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (? other suggestions?) maybe The Zookeeper’s Wife

4. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

5. The Shack by William P. Young

6. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

I’m excited! I cant wait to start my challenges, although I’m starting to go a little bit nuts with the challenges. Thanks for this one Annie!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 4:32 pm

    I’ve got The Blind Assassin on my tbr, and I’ve read The Lovely Bones,the Ya-Ya book and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. What about Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie? (don’t let me bias you – I had to put it aside; it wasn’t bad but required more attn and concentration than I wanted to give it. I hope to re-start it someday.)

  2. November 19, 2008 10:25 pm

    so would you recommend it? I guess I do have all year to get through it!

  3. November 20, 2008 9:00 am

    I picked Midnight’s Children to read for the 1001 Books to Read before I die challenge and because someone I respect said it was her fave Rushdie book. But…. I have so many books I want to read that if I can’t get the time to disappear into a book, I tend to look fondly at other books in my tbr and whoosh. Next thing I know I’ve read 10 books and not yet gotten back to my MUST-READ. If that makes sense. It WAS good, Rushdie has a sly sense of humor. but I it is NOT a pick up and put down when you have time book. how’s THAT for a recommendation! I’m actually really bad at committing to challenges. I’m enthusiastic at first and then it all fizzles when I’m seduced by the next challenge.

  4. November 20, 2008 9:47 am

    Oh, I am exactly the same way on both counts. I read whatever I feel like at the time, but then I start to feel guilty because I’m reading all these things I want to read and nothing that I SHOULD read. So I get a few, big, daunting classics I’ve never taken on, sign up for a bunch of challenges as motivation and shortly after that I lose interest again. Funny how things work.

  5. November 23, 2008 7:48 am

    *excited* Ima gonna read the following:
    1. ‘The Zookeeper’s Wife – A War Story’ by Diane Ackerman
    2. ‘After Dark’ by Haruki Murakami
    3. ‘Daughter of the Blood (Book 1 of the Black Jewels Trilogy)’ by Anne Bishop
    4.’Under The Skin’ by Michael Faber
    5.’The Man in the High Castle’ by Philip K. Dick
    6.’A Poisoned Season’ by Tasha Alexander

Leave a Reply

