Skip to content

The Other Boleyn Girl

November 10, 2008

Random anecote. This didn’t happen recently but I just thought of it again and I thought I’d share.

My mom recommened The Other Boleyn Girl to me a few years back because she absolutely loved it. I usually enjoy the books that she so whole-heartedly recommends (the Red Tent for example, an all-time women’s favorite) so I was eager to read this one. I liked it, but I just kept waiting for the ax to fall… literally and figuratively. I couldn’t get attached to Anne at all. The conversation about my feelings about the book went like this.

Mom: How did you like it?

Me: It was good. I liked it, but it wasn’t as fun to read because I knew how it would end.

Mom: WHAT? HOW DID YOU KNOW THE ENDING? DID I TELL YOU?

No Mom. You didn’t tell me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 4:32 pm

    That’s so funny! I don’t think that knowing how the story ends spoils your enjoyment of reading it. Have you read any other Philippa Gregory novels. I like The Boleyn Inheritance, The Virgin’s Lover and the Wideacre Trilogy.

Leave a Reply

