Skip to content

World’s Most Beautiful Libraries

November 8, 2008

I’ve never been the kind of girl who planned out her wedding, but I did decide a long time ago that I want to get married in a beautiful library. To be honest, I was devastated when Carrie in Sex and the City chose to get married in a library. It was my idea first! So I won’t be using the New York Public Library then, as beautiful and convenient as it could be.

No, I’m not engaged. I’m not even in a serious relationship (does two dates even count as a relationship?) but I bring this point up because I found a list of the most beautiful libraries. Some of these sites are just astounding and clearly the most romantic places on earth. Maybe only booklovers would think of a musty, ancient library as romantic, but the beauty of these places is undeniable. You can sense the magic of the place just looking at the picture.

These are my favorites, but check out the full list. They’re really incredible.

Strahov Philosophical Hall (my favorite)1304077492_0e2efb22ce_o1304080426_c394a4e76d_oAbbey Library St. Gallen, Switzerland

stiftsbibliothek-st-gallen

Biblioteca Geral University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal

biblioteca-geral-da-universidade-de-coimbra-iv

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    November 8, 2008 5:36 pm

    what a great idea to get married in a library. I share in your pain about the New York Library with Carrie. It was so beautiful!

  2. colddraft permalink
    November 11, 2008 12:05 pm

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. Image what libraries might be with the Kindle! You load 3 books on a borrowed Kindle, take it home and then return the device in a couple of weeks where it is wiped clean, ready for the next library patron! Not particulary romantic.

Leave a Reply

