Skip to content

Twilight Theory

October 22, 2008

So, I’ve been developing a theory about non-teens and the Twilight books. I can admit I am way too old to love those books as much as I do. At the same time, I fully appreciate all of the arguments made by the people who can’t get through ten pages. After reading countless rants or raves about the Twilight series, I’ve begun developing a theory about why some people love the books and others don’t. It will probably offend some people, but oh well.

Twilight is about that fantastical kind of love that only exists in Disney (maybe not even then). I believe that the people who read Twilight and hate it have stopped believing in that kind of love. It isn’t realistic, even for fantasy. It takes the idea of “true love” to an incredible extreme. Many people, probably most people, as the mature, let go of the idea of that kind of love, the kind of love that waits 100 years to be realized. These people would rather read about a realistic kind of love, the kind of love that they can expect to find. What’s the point in hoping for something that can’t possibly happen?

I think those who get so wrapped up in this dream world, still believe that this kind of unreal love is possible. They still want to hope, to dream of something so unrealistic. They want to be loved like that, or to at least hope that it could possibly happen. Sure, it’s probably not a healthy way to go through life, always dreaming of something perfect, but in terms of reading, what’s the harm? The reason its such a teen sensation is because teens haven’t had the experience with relationships and heartbreak to realize that this kind of love isn’t normal. The ridiculous form of this true love is made somewhat more believable because both characters are severely flawed, but the love they experience still isn’t realistic.

For the sake of playing with the new poll application, what do you think? Do you believe in the love described in Twilight?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thedomesticfringe permalink
    October 22, 2008 9:11 pm

    I can’t honestly take your poll, but I JUST bought the first two books today. Yes, I’m way behind the times. Everybody’s been talking about them SO MUCH that I had to read them. I thought your blog was really interesting. You’re theory makes sense even though I haven’t started the books yet.

  2. camille permalink
    October 23, 2008 1:12 am

    i’ve read all four books in a week. i’ve read twilight twice and about to finish my second reading of breaking dawn. About your theory, I think you have a point there, about some people like it because its brand of romance. but aside from that, other people don’t like the book because of meyer’s writing style (choice of words, sentence construction, intonation). despite the negative reviews i’ve observed, i still like twilight, and the stupid shiny volvo owner

  3. October 23, 2008 9:18 am

    You make a good point and I agree about other reasons for not liking Twilight. I’m just trying to understand the extreme reactions people have to it. Most people either love it or hate it and for some reason, I don’t the writing style alone makes people want the hurl it out a window (and then bash it online).

Leave a Reply

