Skip to content

Twilight Saga

August 20, 2008

Publisher’s Description:

About three things I was absolutely positive:
First, Edward was a vampire.
Second, there was a part of him–and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be–that thirsted for my blood.
And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

“I’D NEVER GIVEN MUCH THOUGHT TO HOW I WOULD DIE– I’d had reason enough in the last few months –but even if I had, I would not have imagined it like this. . . . Surely it was a good way to die, in the place of something else, someone I loved. Noble, even. That ought to count for something.”
When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret.
What Bella doesn’t realize is the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And, it might be too late to turn back. . . .
Deeply seductive and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight will have readers riveted right until the very last page is turned.

I won’t include the descriptions for the rest of the saga because they are little spoilers for the earlier book (keep that in mind while shopping too). Here are the covers though, so you know what to look for when you go pick these up (and you must pick these up!).

Review and Grade: A

I read the four books in four days. I still can’t figure out what to say about them, beyond that I loved them. They’re a breeze to read, wonderfully girlish (guys will hate it), but I wouldn’t recommend them to everyone. The saga is a great love story and the whole vampire thing gives it a new dimension, but there isn’t a whole lot of substance to it beyond that. Of course, I never minded that for a minute! I’m seriously considering a reread already.

These books are addictive and Bella is such a wonderfully identifiable character that it is hard to anyone who went through high school not to relate to her. Bella is helped along by Stephanie Meyer’s gently twisting logic that leads the reader down a path that makes vegetarian vampires seem perfectly normal. More than once while I read, as Edward explained something about being a vampire, I said to myself, of course that’s true. It wasn’t until I finished the book and was discussing it with some friends that I realized how ridiculous it all must sound to an outsider.

These books are quickly becoming another cult phenomenon, just like Harry Potter, so if only for the reason of not being left out of cultural references, catch up! I’d say that’s the least motivating reason, but its still worth mentioning, because that’s how it was has spread to many of my non-bookworm friends. They simply didn’t want to be left out and quickly got swept up in it as much as I did.

Final thought: Twilight the movie is being released this fall (November?) and I can’t imagine how any movie could possibly capture some of the things that Meyer has created (the beauty and elegance of the vampires, for example). The trailers and ads give a lot away, so if you plan on reading them at all, you probably should do it before that whole mania gets too far out of hand.

Also reviewed at:

Kiss My Book

Literary Escapism

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2008 3:13 pm

    Don’t be too sure that guys will hate it. I know of at least two 30-somethings who are just as unable to put this series down as I was. I wouldn’t have guessed they’d like it for the same reason you mentioned – a wee too girly.

Trackbacks

  1. Twilight by S. Meyer | Literary Escapism

Leave a Reply

